JAMES E. WEST, the first Chief Executive Officer of the Boy Scouts of America. He was instrumental in establishing the juvenile court system as well as the public playground system. With the support of President Theodore Roosevelt, he organized the first White House Conference on the Care of Dependent Children.

West knew that, to be prepared for the future, the youth of his day needed guidelines to live by and to share with their peers. He took the principles of Scouting developed in England by Robert Baden-Powell and during 30 years of service, made a fledgling organization into the leading youth movement in the United States.

The James E. West Fellowship Award honors those who carry on his spirit of service to our young people.

The James E. West Award recognizes individuals, foundations and corporations that make a significant gift - in cash, stock or other property - to the Endowment Fund of the Central North Carolina Council, Boy Scouts of America. You can also use the award to honor someone special in your life or your organization —such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, a retirement, a special accomplishment or anniversary—or in memory of a special individual..

James E. West Recognition Levels

  • $1,000+ Bronze Member Level: Certificate & Pin
  • $5,000+ Silver Member Level: Certificate & Pin
  • $10,000+Gold Member Level: Certificate & Pin
  • $15,000+Diamond Member Level: Certificate & Pin
  • $25,000+ Become a Second Century Society Member

(Donors may make cumulative gifts to reach Silver, Gold, and Diamond Levels is included in your recognition.)


James E. West Fellowship Ideas

  • Honor your Eagle Scout
  • Honor your Parents
  • Honor your Unit Leader
  • Honor your Graduate
  • Honor your Hero
  • Honor a Solder or Veteran
  • Honor a Wood Badger
  • Honor a Commissioner
  • Honor your District Leadership
  • Honor a Silver Beaver
  • Memorialize that Special Person
  • Honor an Arrowman
  • Honor a Veteran Scouter
  • Honor your Chartered Organization

Contact:          Carlo Laurore